The Wide World of Webquests

Although I teach a college certificate course, my student population greatly varies in age, maturity, past experience and motivations. This requires me to adapt my initial teaching approach to each intake I instruct. One of my favorite topics within the Comprehensive Health Care Aide (CHCA) program is the Chain of Infection. This topic has always been of interest to me and I enjoy sourcing innovative ways to deliver the content in such a way that actively involves the students. Currently, students within my program are required to complete a basic power-point, group presentation after they have researched an assigned infectious disease. The ideas and resources contained in this Infectious Disease Webquest could easily be adapted to complement the course content, learning objectives and assessments of the CHCA program. I think this would be a challenging and interactive way to engage my students and guide them to higher learning opportunities. The outcome of this Infectious Disease Webquest mimics the assignment that currently exists within my program. However, this specific assignment encompasses the student-centered approaches of a webquest and role-playing.

I have been searching for an innovative way to deliver anatomy and physiology without resorting to passing around model organs and body parts. In learning about the advantages of using a webquest, I feel that this would be an alternative way to deliver components of the curriculum. In my experience, one of the most challenging topics for students to understand is the circulatory system, as the students are required to learn many anatomical terms, the flow of blood through the heart and the health issues associated with circulation. It is a big topic and I feel that I am often crunched for time. A webquest would allow the student to work through, review and utilize the content either independently or within a group. Some of the links I can foresee utilizing include:

  1. A blood volume calculator. https://www.easycalculation.com/medical/blood-volume.php

Students input their weight, sex and height to calculate their total blood volume. The webquest would include instructions to source 5 different individuals of different ages. Students must then source a visual representation of their calculated blood volumes and present them to the class.

  1. CPR role-play. https://youtu.be/KK-ZtH3jlhU – Ken Jeong AHA no hands CPR

https://resuscitation.heartandstroke.ca/guidelines/overview/resuscitationguidelines – Heart and Stroke Association of Canada CPR Guidelines 2015

In groups of 4, students would be instructed to develop a role-play that utilizes the current CPR guidelines and perform it before the class.

  1. Blood flow through the heart. https://youtu.be/6U36RmNvKJw – educational video about blood flow through the heart.

http://wn.com/blood_flow_through_the_heart_song – interesting and fun video clip that demonstrates the physiology of the heart. Students are able to learn terminology and physiology through song and rhythm.

Leave a Reply

